We Fight for You
Photo of professionals at Winckler & Harvey PLLC

Understanding different types of spinal cord injury

On Behalf of | Apr 25, 2023 | Personal Injury

Spinal cord injuries often lead to permanent and significant changes in a person’s life. If you or a loved one experienced such an injury after an accident, you likely feel uncertain and overwhelmed.

Learning more about the terminology used when discussing spinal cord injuries helps you better understand your situation and options.

Types of spinal cord injuries

Spinal cord injuries can be complete injuries that cause permanent damage and change to the body or incomplete injuries that cause partial damage that may not be as debilitating. Medical professionals classify parts of the spine with different levels or sections. The level injured generally correlates with the damage done to different parts of the body. From top to bottom, the levels are the following:

  • Cervical: The area near the neck and base of the head. The most serious damage often results from injuries to this area.
  • Thoracic: The upper back area. Nerves here control abdominal muscles and chest.
  • Lumbar: The lower back area. Injuries here may lead to reduced use of the legs and hips.
  • Sacral: The bottom part of the spine. Nerves here relate to the feet, legs and thighs.

Every situation is unique and only a medical professional can help you fully understand the damage and resulting changes to the body following a spine injury.

Treating a spinal cord injury

Spinal cord injuries can lead to reduced or lost ability to feel sensation or move different parts of the body. The right treatment options depend on the specific injury in question. Working with a doctor to get the best treatment possible is vital.

FindLaw Network